Australian Development Scholarships (ADS)

Australian Development Scholarships (ADS). People from developing nations, particularly those in the Indo-Pacific region, have the chance to pursue full-time undergraduate or postgraduate study at participating Australian universities and Technical and Further Education (TAFE) institutions thanks to Australian Development Scholarships (ADS), formerly known as Australian Development Scholarships (ADS).

  • Australian Government
  • Bachelors/Masters/PhD Degrees
  • Deadline: 1 May 2023 (annual)
  • Study Country:  Australia
  • Course starts 2024

Scholarships Institution

All Participating Australian Institutions

Study Areas

programmes at the undergraduate or graduate levels that are relevant to the development priorities mentioned for your nation on the profiles of the participating countries.

Training in fields connected to flying aircraft, nuclear technologies, or military training is not eligible for Australian Development Scholarships (ADS).

Australian Development Scholarships (ADS)

Total Scholarships

Not specified

Targeted Audience

citizens of one of the Middle Eastern, African, or Asian nations that is participating. Check out the full list of participating nations.

Scholarship worth, features, and duration

Full tuition fees, round-trip airfare, an establishment allowance, a contribution towards living expenses (CLE), Overseas Student Health Coverage (OSHC), an introductory academic programme (IAP), pre-course English (PCE) fees, among other benefits, are typically included in the benefits of scholarships. Visit the official website to view the full list of advantages.

The scholarships are provided for the least amount of time required for the recipient to finish the academic programme, including any relevant prerequisite training, as stipulated by the Australian higher education institution.

More: University of Bristol Think Big Scholarships

Eligibility Criteria

In order to qualify for a Scholarship, candidates must:

  • be at least 18 years old on February 1st of the year the scholarship begins;
  • be resident in and applying for the scholarship from their place of citizenship; be a citizen of one of the participating nations (as indicated on the Australia Awards website);
  • not possess permanent residence in Australia, not be an Australian citizen, and not be pursuing permanent residency there;
  • at any time during the application, selection, or mobilisation phases, not be married to, engaged to, or a de facto of a person who possesses, or is eligible to possess, Australian or New Zealand citizenship or permanent residency (note: citizens of the Cook Islands, Niue, and Tokelau with New Zealand citizenship are eligible, but must apply for a Student visa [subclass 500]);
  • not be a member of the military today;
  • not have received a long-term Australia Award before unless they have lived abroad for twice as long as they spent in Australia (for instance, a previous awardee who was on an Australia Awards Scholarship in Australia for four years won’t be qualified to apply for another Australia Awards Scholarship until they have lived abroad for eight years);
  • not have convictions for crimes related to child protection or PSEAH (including those from their own nation);
  • Long-term Australia Awards may be applied for by Pacific Secondary School Scholarship Program (PSSSP) awardees who finished secondary school in Australia the previous year;
  • have met any requirements set forth by the Program Area or the government of the applicant’s country of citizenship (such as having worked for a certain period of time in the relevant industry);
  • be able to meet the entrance standards of the school where the grant is to be used. If the recipient cannot meet these conditions, Program Areas may need to withdraw their offer of an award. Program Areas may not seek a placement at particular institutions until this is known);
  • possess a student visa and be able to meet all standards set forth by the Department of Home Affairs. If the winner cannot get a visa, it may be necessary for the Program Area to withdraw an award offer;
  • not apply for a scholarship for a programme of study at a level of academic achievement lower than that which has already been attained (such as applying for a Master’s scholarship when possessing a PhD);
  • For the application to be effectively and openly handled, applicants must tell the Program Area of any link or relationship to personnel employed at Program Areas (including locally engaged workers at post) or with managing contractors.

Read the complete eligibility criteria in the Australia Awards Policy Handbook (PDF).

Application Procedure

For more information on eligibility, priority regions, and application procedures, check the open and closing dates for your nation and choose the participating nation that you are a citizen or permanent resident of from the list. Applications can be sent by mail or online (if unable to apply online). The cutoff time is May 1 at 11:59 p.m. AEST.

For complete and up-to-date instructions on how to apply for this scholarship, it is crucial to read the how to apply page , visit the sites dedicated to certain nations, and go to the official website (link provided below).

Official Link

Visit Official Scholarship Website:

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Register New Account
Shopping cart